• Eligibility:

    Children with disabilities from birth to age 21 may be eligible for special education. Federal law defines "children with disabilities" as having any of the following types of disabilities.

    • Autism
    • Deaf-blindness
    • Deafness
    • Developmental Delay
    • Emotional Disability
    • Hearing Impairment
    • Intellectual Disability
    • Multiple Disabilities
    • Orthopedic Impairment
    • Other Health Impairment
    • Specific Learning Disability
    • Speech or Language Impairment
    • Traumatic Brain Injury
    • Visual Impairment (including blindness)


    Special Education means specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. Special Education can include:

    • Instruction
    • Instruction in physical education
    • Vocational Education
    • Speech/Language Services

    Additionally, once Special Education is determined, related services may also be implemented based on student profile/need (eligibility) e.g.

    • Speech/Language Services
    • Occupational Therapy
    • Physical Therapy
    • Counseling

    NOTE: WCBOE assures educational opportunities by providing "free and appropriate" educational programs and related services for students with disabilities. "At no cost" means that all specially designed instruction is provided without charge, but does not preclude incidental fees which are normally charged to non-disabled students or their parents as part of the regular education program.